As a result, it is generally not possible to evade a state’s age of consent rules by travelling to a different state. Ex-spouses and children can also affect the dynamic of the relationship. Ex-spouses may have a condescending approach that dating a younger person may just be a fling. And if you are dating someone who is close to your child’s age, realize it might make your offspring uncomfortable.

It is illegal for anyone to have sex with someone under the age of 17. With all of the other planning that goes into a wedding these days, state laws on marriage might be the last thing you want to worry about. If you still have questions, you can contact an experienced family law attorney in Georgia. You can also find more general information on this topic in FindLaw’s marriage law section. Whether you are looking to file a lawsuit, get emancipated, or get certain types of healthcare, you’ll want to know the law in Georgia and how it may impact your ability to do any of those things. To learn more about the rights and obligations you have as both a young person and an adult, you should speak with a Georgia family law attorney.

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

A close-in-age exemption exists, allowing minors aged 13 and older to consent to a partner under 18. While the age of consent is 16, Alabama’s statutory rape law is violated when an individual over the age of 18 engages in sexual intercourse with a person over the age of 12 and under age 16. Or when a person 16 or older engages in sexual intercourse with a victim that is at least two years younger. Additionally, an offender commits the crime of sodomy if an individual age 16 or older engages in deviate sexual intercourse with a person under 16 and older than 12, which is enforced as a statutory charge. Alabama has ten statutory sexual abuse charges on the books. Children who have not yet reached their twelfth birthday are deemed unable to consent to a sexual act under any circumstances.

If you or a loved one has been accused of statutory rape, you should hire experienced criminal defense for your case. The ABT Law Firm offers award-winning criminal defense for its clients, and we work hard to get the best possible outcomes for our clients. When your future is on the line, trust our Atlanta sex crime lawyer to get the job done. But, are we all experimenting with people outside our immediate age bracket? I asked my peers if they had ever been in a relationship with a significant age difference (for reference I defined significant as 10 years), and I was surprised to find that every friend I asked and some of my Twitter followers said they had.

For example, an adult who attempts to engage in a sexual act with a minor commits a Class A misdemeanor if the minor is 15 years of age or older. On the other hand, if the minor is under the age of 15, the crime is a class C felony. For example, anyone who is employed in an elementary, middle, or high school cannot engage in sexual activity with any student. The only exception would be if the teacher is married to that student. When it comes to sexual fantasies, however, men have minimum age preferences that are younger than the rule would designate appropriate. For example, this sample of 60-year-old men reports that it is acceptable to fantasize about women in their 20s, which the rule would say is unacceptable.

United States Minor Outlying Islands

So if a 15-year-old willingly has sex with a 17-year-old, both have committed a crime, although it is only a misdemeanor. If the adult is in a position of authority over the minor, such as a teacher, coach, or guardian, the age of consent is 18 years old. This is because minors are considered to be unable to give informed consent to sexual activity. Additionally, there is a close-in-age exemption, which allows minors aged 14 and 15 to consent to sexual activity with someone aged 16 or 17, as long as the two parties are within three years of age of each other. According to the statute, a person commits statutory rape when he or she engages in sexual relations with anyone under the age of 16, whether or not that person is his or her spouse.

If you are trying to determine the legality of any kind of conduct, make sure to consult an experienced criminal defense attorney. When at least one of the marriage partners is under the general marriage age, the marriage is considered underage and may require parental consent and/or judicial authorization. Hayes was charged with burglary, theft, custodial interference, and statutory rape in the state of Kentucky. He told police that Phillips had lied to him about her age, saying she was 18 years old, and that she had showed him a fake ID. Hayes said Phillips had posted on her Facebook page that they were engaged, and told him she was pregnant. Because Phillips was only 13, well under Kentucky’s age of consent, Hayes was charged with first- and second-degree rape, in addition to the charges of theft, burglary, criminal mischief, custodial interference, and criminal trespassing.

There could be a significant age difference between the people involved. There is a stark difference between a 13 year old and a 16 year old. In adulthood, these small numbers are usually not a problem. Thus the general pattern, that men are older—and only somewhat older—seems to stand, making age-gap relationships unusual.

Protection of Minors

Whoever has sexual contact or sexual intercourse with a person who has not attained the age of 16 years is guilty of a Class C felony. If any person carnally knows, without the use of force, a child thirteen years of age or older but under fifteen years of age, such person shall be guilty of … When inducement is an element of 43.25(b), it is not required that there be a threat, promise of payment or other specific incentive or even verbal persuasion for the inducement to be proven.

Republican state representative Dennis Reboletti of Elmhurst stated that he did not believe judges should be able to reverse decisions made by prosecutors. The bill was proposed after a year-old teacher and year-old high school student publicly announced that they were in a relationship. By there had been civil court rulings in California stating that minors under 18 may consent to sexual activity, even though the age of consent is 18 under state criminal law. Not all states have a Romeo and Juliet law, and some have differences varying from completely decriminalizing some cases of statutory rape to simply decreasing charges against the defendant. The following states have all decriminalized sexual contact between minors of a certain age difference. Aggravated rape in the first degree bans sexual intercourse or sodomy with a child under 13.

Reasonable mistake of age, or similarity in age, is not a defense to these offenses. All child prostitution offenses are class three felonies class one felonies are capital offenses, class two felonies include second degree murder. If you are facing a statutory rape charge, consider consulting with an experienced criminal defense attorney who regularly practices in your area.

When you think about, it’s actually the first intimate relationship your child is making with someone outside of the family. Consider their emotional maturity and sense of responsibility. When your child mentions dating, or a girlfriend or boyfriend, try to get an idea of what those concepts mean to them. Generally speaking, however, as long as the 16 year old and 18 year old are both consenting adults and are not in a position of authority over one another, there is nothing wrong with them sleeping together. Sleeping with someone older can be beneficial for the 16 year old, as they may gain access to more mature and worldly perspectives.

Generally, individuals are viewed as adults in the eyes of the law when they turn 18. Children who are aged 16 or 17 are allowed to have consensual sex with someone aged 14 or 15. Employees of the local school system are not allowed to have sexual contact with a student in that school system even if the teacher is close to the age of 18 and the student is over the age of 16. Unless the student is married to the teacher, the state of Oklahoma considers this to be rape.


Georgia law recognizes that young lovers exist and that they shouldn’t be punished to the fullest extent of the law for doing so. Under Georgia statutory rape laws, young lovers can still be prosecuted. Under “Romeo and Juliet” laws if the defendant is 18 years old and the victim is between 14 to 16 years old, the accused will likely face misdemeanor charges.

No Comment

Comments are closed.